About NHLA

The National Hispanic Leadership Agenda (NHLA) was established in 1991 as a nonpartisan association of major Hispanic national organizations and distinguished Hispanic leaders from all over the nation. NHLA’s mission calls for unity among Latinos around the country to provide the Hispanic community with greater visibility and a clearer, stronger influence in our country’s affairs. NHLA brings together Hispanic leaders to establish policy priorities that address, and raise public awareness of, the major issues affecting the Latino community and the nation as a whole.

NHLA is composed of 40 of the leading national and regional Hispanic civil rights and public policy organizations and other elected officials, and prominent Hispanic Americans. NHLA coalition members represent the diversity of the Latino community – Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cubans, and other Hispanic Americans.


American G.I. Forum 
Albert Gonzales, National Commander  
National Hispanic Medical Association (NHMA) 
Elena V. Rios, President & CEO  
ASPIRA Association, Inc. 
Ronald Blackburn Moreno, President 
National Institute for Latino Policy (NILP)
Angelo Falcón, President & Co-Founder 
Casa de Esperanza 
Patricia Tototzintle, Chief Executive Officer 
Mexican American Legal Defense & Educational Fund (MALDEF)
Thomas A. Saenz, President & General Counsel
Cuban American National Council (CNC) 
Sonia Lopez, President & CEO 
National Association of Hispanic Federal Executives (NAHFE)
Al Gallegos, President
Farmworker Justice 
Bruce Goldstein, President 
National Association of Hispanic Publications (NAHP)
Clara Padilla Andrews, President
Hispanic Association of Colleges & Universities (HACU) 
Antonio R. Flores, President & CEO 
National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials (NALEO) Educational Fund
Arturo Vargas, Executive Director
Hispanic Federation
Jose Calderon, President 
National Council of La Raza (NCLR) 
Janet Murguía, President & CEO
Hispanic National Bar Association (HNBA) 
Miguel A. Pozo, President 
National Conference of Puerto Rican Women
Vilma Colom, President
Inter-University Program for Latino Research (IUPLR) 
Maria de los Angeles 
National Hispanic Leadership Institute 
Cristina Lopez, President 
Labor Council for Latin American Advancement (LCLAA) 
Hector Sanchez, Chair 
National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators 
Joseph Miro, President
Latino Justice PRLDEF 
Juan Cartegena, President and General Counsel 
National Puerto Rican Coalition, Inc. (NPRC) 
Rafael A. Fantauzzi, President & CEO
League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC)
Margaret Moran, President 
National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health 
Jessica González-Rojas, Executive Director
MANA, A National Latina Organization
Alma Morales Riojas, President & CEO 
Arturo Carmona
National Association of Latino Independent Producers
Bienvenida Matias,Acting Executive Director 
SER – Jobs for Progress National, Inc. 
Ignacio Salazar, President
National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA)
Yanira Cruz, President & CEO 
Southwest Voter Registration Education Project (SVREP) 
Antonio Gonzalez, President
National Hispanic Environmental Council (NHEC) 
Roger Rivera, President 
United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (USHCC) 
Javier Palomarez, President & CEO
National Hispanic Foundation for the Arts (NHFA) 
Felix Sanchez, Chairman 
United States Hispanic Leadership Institute (USHLI) 
Juan Andrade, Jr., President
National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC) 
Alex Nogales, President & CEO 
Esther Aguilera, President & CEO